top of page
  • Writer's pictureLydia Mormen

Entry 9: The struggle

So it's been a week or so since I last posted and it's been a bit of a struggle. I had my meeting to show my rough cut to my teacher and she gave me some really constructive points. After taking her advice and watching other documentaries I realised mine was too "blocky."


In order to make it more engaging for the viewer it's good to weave in and out of different interviews that then come together to make one big picture at the end. I took the advice of my supervisor and made cards with all my best soundbites on and then laid them out on the floor to come up with a more engaging structure.


Ultimately it meant splitting up three of the bigger interviews. I think doing it this way helps the audience to connect with the characters as instead of just seeing each character one after the other, you re-visit them and become more engaged in their story.


Now the structure is in place it's time for the cosmetic editing!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Entry 11: Diamonds are formed under pressure?

For this documentary I have put a lot of pressure on myself to produce something that I would be proud to show my family and friends, as well as future employers. Not only that but after the generosit

Entry 10: Youtube is my bestfriend!

Wow. I could never have estimated how much hard work editing a documentary of only 7 minutes would be. As I am doing a Journalism course my time over the last few years has been evenly split between p

Entry 8: Beginning the editing process

After evaluating all my footage I think I have a story line. If I am honest this has been a difficult part for me. Because the interviews weren't as in depth as I had hoped, the story line isn't as st

bottom of page