top of page
  • Writer's pictureLydia Mormen

Entry 10: Youtube is my bestfriend!

Wow. I could never have estimated how much hard work editing a documentary of only 7 minutes would be.


As I am doing a Journalism course my time over the last few years has been evenly split between print, radio and tv. This means that I've only ever edited short clips or at most a package for a news show and I have never had to edit a documentary on my own!


Because I want my doc to look cinematic to fit in with my chosen platform of Great Big Story, there is a lot more pressure to make sure that all the shots are perfectly timed and edited than there is when editing for a news show. This HAS to evoke emotion which means a lot of googling how to edit!


A few of the techniques I have learnt over the last few weeks:


-Subtitling

-Colour correction

-Image Overlaying

-Slowing down shots to allow the viewer to create nostalgia

-Attempting over and over again to clean up sound - something I still haven't fully mastered!


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Entry 11: Diamonds are formed under pressure?

For this documentary I have put a lot of pressure on myself to produce something that I would be proud to show my family and friends, as well as future employers. Not only that but after the generosit

Entry 9: The struggle

So it's been a week or so since I last posted and it's been a bit of a struggle. I had my meeting to show my rough cut to my teacher and she gave me some really constructive points. After taking her a

Entry 8: Beginning the editing process

After evaluating all my footage I think I have a story line. If I am honest this has been a difficult part for me. Because the interviews weren't as in depth as I had hoped, the story line isn't as st

bottom of page